General question

• August 11, 2019 at 8:03 am #4222
    agesofdestinyagesofdestiny
    Participant

Hey!

I am very new to photography having only really ever experimented myself, read magazines and done a few day courses so you will have to bare with me on this one! I am looking to extend my lens collection and am finding that I have no clue where to start. I’ve been advised that it’s a good thing to go second hand when first starting out enabling me to understand more about each lens and what it does for my camera before spending the big money. I’d really love to try a macro lens on my nikon d3500 however I feel totally lost when trying to find one which will fit and work! Any help would be really greatly appreciated in this matter. Thanks in advance 🙂

August 11, 2019 at 8:44 am #4224
    Rachel ThornhillRachel Thornhill
    Participant

Hey there @agesofdestiny , welcome to the Mastering Portrait Photography Community!

What you describe is something I found tricky myself when I started… how do I know what kit is a worth investment? It’s good that you asking these questions now, before you invest! I think you need to start with asking. yourself – What do I love shooting the most?

I love photographing people, so for me, my first separate lens purchase was a 50mm prime lens, that has a f of 1.8. It took me a while to get used to using my feet rather than the telephoto, but with such an amazing shallow depth of field, allowed me to play and start to experiment with style all for £95 new from amazon. It was a great option to get me started and actually I shot my first few paid shoots with it, before I invested in my Canon 5Diii, 24-70 2.8 and 70-200 2.8, which is my go to kit now.

I don’t know much about macro lenses I’m afraid, that 50mm 1.8 is still in my kit for when I need to do detail shots for weddings, and I haven’t found the need for a separate macro lens yet.